2023 CELEBRITY GUEST An Evening with Tennis Legend John McEnroe

Tennis legend John McEnroe embodies the American spirit. On and off the court, McEnroe has proven himself to be one of the most intriguing and controversial public figures of his time. Throughout his playing years, his bold and irreverent style made him, for many, a symbol for a generation of “rock n’ roll” athletes. Since leaving the court, his unique commentary and style in the broadcast booth have garnered him national Sports Emmy nominations. He has written two bestsellers, all based on his trademark retort to the chair umpire: You Cannot Be Serious and But, Seriously.

He won his first Grand Slam singles title in 1979 when he captured the first of four U.S. Open Championships. In 1981, he took the first of his three Wimbledon singles titles, becoming the youngest #1 ranked male in the history of professional tennis. With seven grand slam singles championships and ten grand slam doubles championships, McEnroe is still considered one of the greatest players of the game.

McEnroe was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island, in August 1999. In September of that year, during the United States Open in New York, the United States Tennis Association announced John’s selection as the thirty-seventh Captain of the United States Davis Cup Team for the 2000 campaign.

With more than 150 singles and doubles titles to date, McEnroe has compiled an unparalleled record of achievement and raised the level of the game itself. One of his proudest achievements was leading the USA to five Davis Cup titles. His knowledge of the game and magnetic personality have made him an instant hit as a network television commentator. He has offered commentary for a variety of television networks, including ESPN, CBS, NBC, USA, and the BBC as well as EuroSport and Australia’s Channel 7.

McEnroe has a serious interest in art and oversees The John McEnroe Gallery in the Soho area of New York City, where he showcases the work of contemporary artists. He has also established The John and Patty McEnroe Foundation, an organization established to distribute grants and pledges to a wide variety of charitable causes.

McEnroe is the Founder and Director of The Johnny Mac Tennis Project (JMTP), which changes young lives by removing the racial, economic and social barriers to success through tennis, and the John McEnroe Tennis Academy (JMTA). John’s passion and belief is that great players can be developed in urban settings, while still having the opportunity to live at home, to pursue their educational goals, and to participate in a variety of sports and extracurricular activities. Through various channels, including community outreach, the John McEnroe Tennis Academy works to recruit the most talented and the most highly motivated young athletes in the New York City Metropolitan area, and beyond.

Hosted By

James Duthie

James Duthie is the popular host of TSN’s extensive and award-winning hockey coverage. He also contributes to key CFL ON TSN events, including the playoffs and Grey Cup as well as The Masters and the Super Bowl.

Duthie’s entertaining and sharp-witted style continues to make him a fan favourite across Canada and one of the most-followed media personalities on Twitter.

His natural charisma and extensive history in sports broadcasting allow him to gain exclusive interviews with some of the biggest stars in sports and entertainment.

Duthie’s work has earned him multiple awards including three Geminis, a Canadian Screen Award, and the Excellence in Sports Broadcasting award from Sports Media Canada.

25 Years of the Ottawa Celebrity Sports Dinner

2022 – Andre Reed, Bruce Smith, and Thurman Thomas

2021 – Jack Nicklaus

2019 – Barry Sanders

2018 – Jerome “the Bus” Bettis

2017 – Jerry Rice

2016 – Jim Kelly

2015 – Emmitt Smith

2014 – Mark Messier

2013 – Pete Rose

2012 – Bo Jackson

2011 – Joe Montana

2010 – Dan Marino

2009 – John Elway

2008  – A Tribute to Canadian Hockey Legends:

  • Wayne Cashman
  • Dale Hawerchuk
  • Glenn Anderson
  • Billy Smith
  • Paul Henderson
  • Darryl Sittler
  • Peter Mahovlich
  • Steve Shutt
  • Yvan Cournoyer
  • Brad Park

2007 – 15 Years of Ottawa Senators Hockey:

  • Jean Beliveau
  • Chris Nilan
  • Steve Shutt,
  • Rick Middleton
  • Terry O’Reilly
  • Bryan Trottier
  • Henri Richard
  • Rejean Houle
  • Billy Smith

2006 –  Legends of Hockey:

  • Guy Lafleur
  • Yvan Cournoyer
  • Brad Park
  • Dale Hawerchuk
  • Rejean Houle
  • Peter Mahovlich
  • Gerry Cheevers

2005 –  Bobby and Dennis Hull

2004 –  Marv Levy

2003 –  The Coaches Panel:

  • Jacques Martin
  • Brian Kilrea
  • Joe Paopao

2002 –  Roger Neilson

2001 –  Walter Gretzky

2000 –  Rubin ‘Hurricane’ Carter

1999 –  Dick Irvin

1998 –  Ron MacLean